The Lamron and the beginning

The Lamron. Ahhhhh. I heave a sigh of bittersweet nostalgia.

A huge part of my life for several years, it was also the start to gathering my identity as a journalist and to thinking about how I represent myself in the online world.

I’m sure The Lamron will come up plenty in the future, so I’m proud to say that it is my alma mater, the State University of New York at Geneseo’s student-run newspaper, where all the bright writers and news enthusiasts at Geneseo gather to put out a weekly.

As a member and leader in the organization, I had the pleasure of being a part of a very thoughtful, considerate and informed group of people. Particularly, our editorial board (which consisted generally of 16 members, but narrowed to 4-6 when it came to deciding on staff editorial pieces) was inspirational in moving forward as a journalist. This small but dedicated group constantly kept itself on its toes. While the diverse and painstaking thinkers comprising the board made decision-making tiresome, it was always incredibly deliberate. I found myself in the middle of heated and important discussions, some of which would shape the way I thought about the world and myself from then on.

In addition to being a professional and intellectual opportunity, The Lamron provided me with this treasure, which helps to give a better picture of who I am, from a different perspective. The writer Tom Wilder, also a former editor-in-chief, is on Twitter (@TommyWilder).

Here I am in all of my glory, for the photo shoot:

photo by Ben Jay (Lefty7448 / Flickr)
Leave a Reply

